Where is home? JCP News May 2017

I am a notorious homebody, but over the past couple of weeks, I have traveled across more time zones than I care to calculate. I was fortunate to attend the smarter artist Summit in Austin Texas, and it was my first experience staying at an AirBNB. I’m really pleased that I did. My accommodations were in a guest house in someone’s beautiful backyard, and there was so much more personality and privacy then I would’ve had staying at a hotel. It also allowed me to see more neighborhoods than I would have, had I simply stuck to the hotel where the conference took place. The homes in the neighborhood had tons of character, too. I’m just a little bit house access to these days, since I just got a new house myself! (I haven’t moved there yet, it’s getting spiffed up for me at the moment.) I also got to enjoy the cryptic phrases someone had spray painted up and down the street.

After Austin, I traveled to London, where I got to meet up with a group of fabulous readers. I treated them to a sneak preview of PsyCop 8, and also gave away some rare memorabilia.

I got to cross something off my bucket list during this trip, too. Ever since I was in college, I’ve been eager to see the Catacombs of Paris. Clare London and I took the Eurostar over to Paris for the weekend to check them out. It’s hard to describe the sheer scope and depth of the catacombs. The bones of 18th Century Parisian dead are stacked high and deep in lengthy warrens left from the mining of limestone. The tunnels go on and on and on, and rather than feeling repetitious, eventually the sheer scope of what you’re seeing, of humanity, is what you’re left with in the end.

Initially when we came in, I thought it was kind of funny that they have “don’t pet the skull” signs. But sadly, not everyone in the catacombs was respectful of the dead.

I have always been fascinated with what lies beneath our cities. Paris definitely did not disappoint.

All in all, the food was exquisite, and the waitstaff was very patient with my struggling French, and it’s always a treat to see my dear friend Clare.

Circling back to PsyCop… While I don’t have a release date for you yet, I am happy to tell you that PsyCop 8 is through its first round of editing, and if all goes well with the editing and with my impending move, I would love for it to hit the shelves before the end of June. Keep your eyes peeled for a cover reveal and release date very soon!

And whatever you do, don’t pet the skulls.

Leave a Reply

